top of page
Book no.1
Book no.2


This Man Is Dangerous (1936; Lemmy Caution)



Dames Don’t Care (1937; Lemmy Caution)

Poison Ivy (1937; Lemmy Caution)



Can Ladies Kill? (1938; Lemmy Caution)

The Urgent Hangman (1938; Slim Callaghan)



Dangerous Curves (1939; Slim Callaghan)

Don’t Get Me Wrong (1939; Lemmy Caution)



Another Little Drink (1940; Nick Bellamy)

You Can’t Keep the Change (1940; Slim Callaghan)

You’d Be Surprised (1940; Lemmy Caution)



It Couldn’t Matter Less (1941; Slim Callaghan)

Your Deal, My Lovely (1941; Lemmy Caution)



Dark Duet (1942; Kane, Guelvada, Quayle)

Never a Dull Moment (1942; Lemmy Caution)

Sorry You’ve Been Troubled (1942; Slim Callaghan)



The Stars Are Dark (1943; Fells, Greeley, Quayle)

You Can Always Duck (1943; Lemmy Caution)



They Never Say When (1944; Slim Callaghan)

The Dark Street (1944; O’Mara, Quayle)



I’ll Say She Does! (1945 ; Lemmy Caution)

Sinister Errand (1945; Kells, Guelvada, Quayle)



Dark Hero (1946; Rene Berg)

Uneasy Terms (1946; Slim Callaghan)



Dance Without Music (1947; Caryl O’Hara)

Dark Interlude (1947; O’Mara, Guelvada, Quayle)



Dark Wanton (1948; Frewin, Guelvada, Quayle)

Try Anything Twice (1948)



You Can Call It a Day (1949; Johnny Vallon)

One of Those Things (1949; Terence O’Day)



Dark Bahama (1950; Johnny Vallon)

Lady, Behave! (1950; Johnny Vallon)



Ladies Won’t Wait (1951; Michael Kells)


You Can’t Hit a Woman and Other Stories (1937)

Knave Takes Queen (1939)

Mr. Caution – Mr. Callaghan (1941; Slim Callaghan, Lemmy Caution)

editor: Best Stories of the Underworld (1942)

The Adventures of Alonzo MacTavish (1943; Alonzo MacTavish)

Calling Mr. Callaghan (1943; Slim Callaghan)

Alonzo MacTavish Again (1943; Alonzo MacTavish)

The Murder of Alonzo (1943; Alonzo MacTavish)

Making Crime Pay (colleted stories, articles, radio plays) (1944)

Account Rendered (1944)

Night Club (1945, Poynings) AKA Dressed to Kill (1952)

He Walked in Her Sleep and Other Stories (1946; Alonzo MacTavish)

A Spot of Murder and Other Stories (1946; Slim Callaghan)

The Curiosity of Etienne MacGregor (1947; Etienne MacGregor) AKA The Sweetheart of the Razors

Fast Work and other stories (1948)

No Ordinary Cheyney (1948)

Knave Takes Queen - enlarged edition (1950)

Lemmy Caution Omnibus (1952; This Man is Dangerous, Dames Don’t Care, I’ll Say She Does)

Velvet Johnnie and Other Stories (1952)

Dressed to Kill (1952; Night Club plus biog)

Calling Mr. Callaghan (1953; Slim Callaghan)

Meet Mr Callaghan (1953; collection of The Urgent Hangman, Dangerous Curves & Uneasy Terms)

G Man at the Yard (1953; Lemmy Caution, Slim Callaghan, Alonzo MacTavish)

The Adventures of Julia and Two Other Spy Stories (1954; Julia Herron) AKA Killing Game, You’d Be Surprised

The Best Stories of Peter Cheyney (1954)

He Walked in Her Sleep (1954; Alonzo MacTavish) AKA MacTavish

The Mystery Blues and Other Stories Peter Cheyney (1954) AKA Fast Work

bottom of page